The British Fashion Council Announces Its 2017/2018 NEWGEN Recipients


Emanuel Mendes


Deputy Editor and Creative Latest news,entertainment and Lifestyle from our ...

The British Fashion Council (BFC) today celebrates the fifteen emerging designers who will receive NEWGEN support for the year ahead. Following the announcement of a new format, NEWGEN sponsorship is now awarded annually to both menswear and womenswear designers who will show at either London Fashion Week Men’s or London Fashion Week. This new format is focused on celebrating the incredible pool of emerging menswear and womenswear talent in London.

Alexander McQueen, Christopher Kane, Christopher Raeburn, Christopher Shannon, and J.W. Anderson are a few of the many names that have served as a jumping off point for young designers at the British Fashion Council’s NEWGEN initiative since 1993.

The British Fashion Council has announced its recipients for 2017/2018. Celebrating London’s emerging talents, this year’s pool of NEWGEN recipients includes the likes of A-COLD-WALL*’s Samuel Ross, Liam Hodges, and Wales Bonner. Each recipient will receive financial support and showcasing opportunities, not to mention business training and individual mentorship, amazing career kickstart.

“We want to empower these designers to build and strengthen their brands in close alignment with their creative vision, I am delighted as ever to welcome this year’s new designers to the initiative.” – Caroline Rush CBE, Chief Executive of the British Fashion Council.

This year for the first time The Fashion Awards in partnership with Swarovski acted as a fundraiser for the BFC Education Foundation, with £400k of the £700k raised being used to support schemes including NEWGEN, BFC Designer Business Support and the BFC Colleges Council.

Check out the full list of recipients below and look for each of them to show their latest designs at London Fashion Week later this year.

BFC 2017/2018 NEWGEN Recipients

Richard Quinn
Charles Jeffrey LOVERBOY
Kiko Kostadinov
Liam Hodges
Marta Jakubowski
Molly Goddard
Nicholas Daley
Paula Knorr
Phoebe English MAN
Richard Malone
Sadie Williams
Wales Bonner

Source: BFC